Our Planets and what they represent in Astrology

In astrology, knowing the planets and their effects on your life is just as important as knowing your sign. They all affect us differently therefore knowing the areas of life they govern is critical to understanding your horoscope. The planets are divided into two groups: inner and outer planets. Inner planets are the Sun, Moon, Mercury, Venus, and Mars which govern the activities of our day-to-day life. The outer planets move much more slowly, and as a result, they influence bigger trends in your life. Sun and Moon rule Leo and Cancer respectively. Whereas, all the other Planets rule two houses each. Rahu and Ketu do not own any house. Aries and Scorpio are ruled by Mars, Taurus and Libra by Venus, Gemini and Virgo by Mercury, Sagittarius and Pisces by Jupiter, Capricorn and Aquarius by Saturn Now let me tell you about the planets and what they represent,

What Our Planets Represent in Astrology.

Sun represents our personality

Sun shifts into a new sign every month. Just as the planets revolve around the Sun in our solar system, we derive our life purpose from the Sun in our natal charts. The Sun represents the inner self, willpower, and life-force. In Vedic astrology, Sun has been described as Soul of all beings.

Moon represents our emotions, mother and our spontaneous reactions

Moon is the second most important placement, after the sun, in your astrology chart. The Moon is associated with feminine energy in general. Moon moves into a new sign every two to three days, and represents the emotional nature of the sign it’s in. The moon governs our subconscious, our emotional reactions to new circumstances, the part of ourselves that is purely emotional and our relationships with our mothers.

Mercury represents our intelligence and communication

Mercury moves into a new sign every three to four weeks, and is the planet that rules our rational mind, our capacity to collect and sort out information and to pass it on to others. Mercury also governs the nervous system, transportation, and the ability to analyze.

Venus represents love and beauty

Venus moves signs every four to five weeks. It’s known to be the planet of love, beauty, and money. In relationships, Venus represents what we desire from our partners in order to feel loved. Venus also rules over the kinds of things we spend money on, what we consider beautiful, the arts, good food, and comforts.

Mars represents conflict and passion and aggression

In relationships, Mars is the planet that governs our primal sexual instincts, what we bring to a relationship, and how we go after what we want. Mars is the heated passion behind our actions, and shifts into a new sign every six to seven weeks, changing the way we take initiative. Mars is the slowest moving of the personal planets.

Jupiter represents luck, growth, and wisdom

Jupiter is the planet of expansion, foreign travel, and the search for meaning and truth. It represents philosophy, religion, metaphysics, and education. Jupiter is the planet that pushes us to continue exploring, asking questions, and look for answers. Jupiter moves into a new sign every two to three years.

Saturn represents discipline and challenges

Saturn is the planet of rules, restriction, personal responsibility, respect for tradition, and the courage to face our fears. Saturn is the laws, boundaries, and limits set by society. It shapes our sense of personal duty during times of hardship. It moves into a new sign every two to three years.

I hope you enjoyed this article. If you have any queries, then mail me at sureshshrimali9@gmail.com

Back to list